England lead Euro women to RWC Sevens 2013

(IRB.COM) Monday 2 July 2012  
 England lead Euro women to RWC Sevens 2013
Joanne Watmore was a key figure for England, scoring 11 tries in Moscow, including seven in knock-out play

England's women celebrated another Sevens tournament victory at the weekend, which brought with it a double success in Moscow.

In beating Spain 27-7 in the final, not only did they lift the European Sevens Series title in Russia, more significantly they also qualified top for next year’s Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow.

The other nations to have qualified from Europe are runners-up Spain, France, Netherlands and Ireland, while third-placed Russia take their place automatically as hosts.

England cruised through their pool matches against Portugal, Croatia and Germany and then largely dominated their knock-out matches, culminating in the final against Spain.

It amounted to their third tournament win of the season after victories in the IRB Sevens Challenge Cups in both Hong Kong and London.

“Our primary aim this weekend was to qualify for the Rugby World Cup so to then win the title as well is a massive bonus," said England Sevens Head coach, Barry Maddocks.

“This has been a good season and I am delighted for the players. We have come a long way since coming together as a squad 14 months ago and the hard work from everyone involved has really paid off. The challenge now is to keep going forward and getting better and we certainly plan to do that as we look towards the Rugby World Cup next season.”


Final standings

1.England - qualifier 1
2.Spain - qualifier 2
3.Russia - (automatically qualified as hosts)
4.France - qualifier 3
5.Netherlands - qualifier 4
6.Ireland - qualifier 5


The make-up of women's event at RWC Sevens 2013 will be as follows:

Women (16 teams)
Europe – one automatic place (host Russia) plus five qualifiers
Oceania – two automatic places (New Zealand and Australia) plus one team to compete in Asia qualifier
North America/Caribbean – one automatic place (USA) and one qualifier
Africa – one automatic place (South Africa) plus one qualifier
Asia – three qualifiers (with the best-placed team in Oceania outside of Australia and New Zealand competing)
South America – one qualifier

RWC Sevens 2013 Qualifiers by Region

June 30-July 1, Moscow, Russia (women)
July 20-21, Albufeira, Portugal (men)

August 3-4, Lautoka, Fiji (women)
August 25-26, Sydney, Australia (men)

North America/Caribbean
August 25-26, Ottawa, Canada (men and women)

September 28-30, Marrakech, Morocco (men and women)

October 6-7, Pane, India (women)
November 2-3, Singapore (men)

South America
February 23-24, Rio de Janeiro (men and women)