RWC Sevens 2013 - women's qualifying

(IRB.COM) Wednesday 9 May 2012  

Five teams directly qualified for RWC Sevens 2013 and there are a further 11 available qualification spots, making a total of 16 teams for the women’s competition.

The qualification tournaments for Europe and North America/Caribbean have already taken place, with six more teams taking their place at next year's tournament, meaning there are just five places remaining.

The make-up of the tournament is as follows:

Region Already qualified Additional qualifying places
Africa South Africa
North America / Caribbean USA  1
South America
Asia    3*
Europe Russia
Oceania New Zealand, Australia

*The best-placed team in Oceania outside of Australia and New Zealand will compete in the Asia qualifier and compete for one of the three spots available through the Asia qualifier taking place in October in India.

RWC Sevens 2013 Qualifiers by Region

Europe - June 30-July 1, Moscow, Russia
Oceania - August 3-4, Lautoka, Fiji
North America/Caribbean - August 25-26, Ottawa, Canada
Africa - September 29-30, Rabat, Morocco
Asia - October 6-7, Pune, India
South America - February 23-24, Rio de Janeiro