Portugal leads Euro qualifiers to RWC Sevens

(IRB.COM) Saturday 21 July 2012  
 Portugal leads Euro qualifiers to RWC Sevens
Portugal won Europe's qualifier for RWC Sevens on home soil in the Algarve

Five European nations - Portugal, Spain, France, Georgia and Scotland - have won through regional qualifying to book places at Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow, Russia.

Europe's was the first of six men's qualifying events taking place between now and February 2013. The 12-team competition was held in Albufeira, Portgual and was won by the hosts.

The Portuguese beat Iberian neighbours Spain 7-5 in the final, but had already booked their place at next year's Rugby Sevens showcase by winning through to the Cup semi finals along with Spain, Georgia and France.

Scotland, meanwhile, had to beat Germany and then Italy to clinch the Plate and claim Europe's fifth and final qualifying berth.


Of the other European nations, England, Russia (hosts) and Wales (defending champions) were already guaranteed a place at the sixth RWC Sevens and did not compete in Portugal.

Fourteen nations have now qualified for the RWC Sevens men's tournament - nine of them automatically - and 10 places are still available through the remaining regional qualifiers.

Men's qualifying process for RWC Sevens 2013:

Europe - Portugal, Spain, France, Georgia, Scotland qualified
Oceania - August 25-26, Sydney, Australia
North America/Caribbean - August 25-26, Ottawa, Canada
Africa - September 28-30, Marrakech, Morocco
Asia - November 2-3, Singapore
South America - February 23-24, Rio de Janeiro